I occurred to me today: if I were to eliminate from my life everything that has to do with music, would I have much of a life afterwards? Most of my free time is spent getting ready for radio shows, or reading about and looking for new records. I know a lot of people through radio and music. But outside of that?

I only mention this because I’m starting to feel like I don’t have much of a life beyond my own interests in music. If that is off the table… do I have much of a life? I like books and comics and movies fine… but it is not as satisfying as music is to me.

Is there much to me, if that’s really the extent of my passions? All I have to do is interact with one or two people who don’t care about music, and suddenly I have nothing to contribute.

Let’s get really real: is there anything to me outside of my love for my family and very narrow & specific cultural expressions that I enjoy?

Is there much to me at all?

Leave a comment